Scholarships and Awards to Strengthen the Economic Development Profession

NCEDA supports the advancement of outstanding economic development practitioners by annually awarding scholarships for professional development and recognizing a leaders with the Economic Developer of the Year.


Dan Stewart Scholarship to the Economic Development Course
This scholarship awards $575 toward tuition to the one-week Basic Economic Development course at UNC Chapel Hill.

Jack Ervin Scholarship to the Economic Development Institute
This scholarship provides $650 a year in tuition for the three-year Economic Development Institute.

Governor James E. Holshouser Professional Development Scholarship
This scholarship awards $1,000 per year in general support for three years toward the cost of attending the Economic Development Institute.

Applying for Scholarships
Click HERE for the 2018 application packet. The deadline is February 23. Scholarships will be awarded at the NCEDA MidWinter Conference on March 14 in Pinehurst.


Economic Developer of the Year
At the Annual Conference in June, NCEDA presents an award to the individual who best exemplifies leadership in the state’s economic development efforts. The North Carolina Economic Developer of the Year award is given in recognition to the winner’s contributions to expansions and projects completed during the previous calendar year. The application for the award can be found here. Nominations are accepted during May.
See our current honoree.

Legislator of the Year
NCEDA presents annual awards to a member of the North Carolina Senate and the North Carolina House of Representatives in recognition for their exceptional support for the state’s economic development efforts.
See our current honorees.